Becoming Dr. Health Equity Jazz - Issue #8

Let’s talk about first quarter check-ins, healthcare, and Blue…

Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation, and that is an act of political warfare.

Audre Lorde

Girl, What’s Been Going On?

We are officially in the 2nd quarter of the year! 😱 March may have ended, but I’m taking the main character energy I invoked over the past month with me for the rest of the year.

I’ve never been someone big on the idea of spring cleaning, but there’s something about this year that feels like I need to embrace it. I’m going to let y’all in on one of my dirty little secrets… when my depression gets bad, you can tell in the cleanliness of my apartment. It’s something that is common for people who live with depression, but I’m pretty sure no one really likes to talk about it. Now that I think back on it, it’s probably why growing up my house wasn’t the cleanest, as both of my parents lived with depression. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I lived in a pigsty... it’s just the idea of deep cleaning was more centered around company and not our everyday lives. For me, the same applies… I can indirectly track my mood by the unwashed clothes on the floor, the pile of shoes by the door, and boxes that need to be opened from late night Amazon purchases.

So in this new month, I’ve made a promise to myself that I would embrace the days I have motivation and tell my spirit it’s time to clean up. I started a new medication cocktail and I’m hoping that it means I have more good days ahead of me to find the strength to spring clean not only my home, but also my mind and spirit.

Gif of Snoopy from Peanuts doing spring cleaning.

Another aspect of spring cleaning for me will be to do a check-in on my 2023 goals and vision board. Do you remember my January 2023 issue where I outlined how I chose my 2023 word and created my goals and vision board? Well, it’s time to discuss what I’m planning to do for my quarterly check-in.

Step 1. Check Your Vision Board. If you’ve had it in plain sight all this time like I suggested, you’re hopefully used to seeing the images and thinking about the things you wanted to manifest in your life. Now is the time to congratulate yourself for the items that you’ve accomplished. If you created a virtual vision board, put a congratulatory emoji (🎊🎉🥳) on the pictures, words, manifestations you reached in Q1. If you created a physical vision board, time to get those stickers out and celebrate your Q1!

Step 2. Check-in With Your Word. Time to ask yourself if you’ve been truly embracing your word of the year?

  • If you haven’t - why not? What’s holding you back from embracing your word? Did you choose the wrong word, or are you afraid of setting the boundaries or taking the adventures that might be required for your word to be true?

  • If you have - how? What have you done to embrace your word? Do you want to do even more next quarter?

Step 3. Follow-Up On Your Goals. Remember those goals you wrote up in January? Time to check off what’s been accomplished, adjust what might no longer be realistic, and write down any new goals that have come to mind. Are there any goals that no longer make sense? If so, let it go. No need to hold on to what no longer serves you.

Step 4. CELEBRATE! This is for everyone. CELEBRATE that you made it through the first quarter of 2023 (and weren’t indicted… 😏). Even if you feel like you didn’t accomplish enough or anything at all, CELEBRATE. We deserve to CELEBRATE every day, every minute, every chance we get. So whether you decide to do something big or small, celebrate that you’re still making it. And just so you know, I’m proud of you! Life is not easy and I need you to know that there is someone on this side of the world rooting for you! 💐

New web feature: Comment and let me know how you plan to celebrate surviving the first quarter of 2023. FYI: You have to be logged into leave a comment.

If you’re interested in learning how I plan to celebrate all that I achieved in Q1, check out a free trial of the HEJ Inner Circle. I’ll be discussing some upcoming travel plans and a part 2 of my motherhood journey in the next couple of drops.

How’s School?!

Can you believe it’s already term 4?! How am I almost a 2nd year DrPH student? 🤯 If you’re new here, I invite you to go back to previous issues and catch up on my experience thus far. A full year recap of my courses will be the focus of my June issue. Stay tuned!

Alright, since I last checked in, I finished and received my grades for my term 3 classes. Quick reminder, I took the following classes:

  1. Adolescent Health & Development

  2. Children In Crisis: An Asset-Based Approach to Working with Vulnerable Youth

  3. Prevention in Mental Disorders: Public Health Interventions

Favorite class - Children in Crisis: An Asset-Based Approach to Working with Vulnerable Youth. Probably because it was taught by Dr. Terri Powell, who is amazing! I’m plotting on asking her to be my advisor or at least on my dissertation committee, but she just doesn’t know it yet. 🤫 Last month we discussed how hard it was for me to get past the emotional block of writing about youth suicide. This month, we’re going to discuss my new classes and how I’m already planning to make some… good trouble.

Gif of John Lewis and his famous quote, “Never, ever be afraid to make some noise and get in good trouble, necessary trouble.”

Term 4

First, I clearly have issues and decided to take three classes again. 🤦🏾‍♀️ Here they are:

  1. Social Context of Adolescent Health & Development

  2. The One Health Approach to Epidemiology and Global Public Health: Problem Solving Seminar

  3. Designing a Strategic Plan

I’ll note that I did make a change to my classes on Friday. Originally I was registered for the Crafting Effective Solutions for Gun Violence: Problem Solving Seminar, but after the latest mass shooting, I just couldn’t bring myself to be in that emotional mindset for another 8 weeks. I’m hoping that learning about One Health will be a bit more uplifting and hopeful. If you haven’t heard about one health, you should check out the February episode of Health Equity Mondays. Omari discusses one health and its relation to the East Palestine train derailment.

Okay, so here’s why I’m feeling like I’m about to make some good trouble… the strategic plan course. I’ll be transparent that this is a brand new course. A brand new 1-credit course. It is supposed to help us be better prepared in leadership positions and reach some of the competencies set forth by the accreditation board. I had high hopes going into the course, but they were quickly crushed during our first class.

The two people facilitating our course are a retired and current healthcare consultant for one of the large consulting firms in the country. Together they have about 40 years of consulting experience under their belt, but that’s where the problem lies… healthcare is not interchangeable with public health. While this first class was just an introduction and overview of the syllabus, it was very clear that the focus of this class will be healthcare administration and hospital systems. Many of my classmates, myself included, are not in places to be making strategic plans or policies for these types of systems, and frankly, most of us (myself included) aren’t interested in being administrators. So why would a mandatory class for only DrPH students be provided with a healthcare lens and not public health? Your guess is as good as mine.

Because I don’t know how to keep my mouth shut, I did ask the presenters if we would actually be taking a public health approach to strategic planning this term, and the response left much to be desired. The male presenter stated, “Yes, of course we’ll be discussing how public health integrates into the strategic plan. The first thing that many hospital systems do before designing a plan is complete a community health needs assessment. And we’ll discuss that in detail.”

Gif of Madea shaking her head.

Who thought it would be a good idea for DrPH students to learn from people with no public health experience? And I’m not saying that there isn’t value in learning about healthcare, but when it is built on individuality (the antithesis to PUBLIC health) and only 20% of the overall health inequity equation - it should never be the sole focus of a public health course.

I’ll let y’all know how this pans out because I’m sure I’ll have more to say and more trouble to make. Course evaluations are sure going to be interesting. 🤷🏾‍♀️

What Are You Doing For Fun?

I’m not sure if I shared here before, but one of my vision board items was a photo of the Kennedy Center, to symbolize that I wanted to prioritize something that brings me joy. From a young age, I always loved going to plays, musicals, concerts, etc. with my family. My parents would take me to plays in DC, and afterwards we would spend hours discussing the themes, our favorite characters, the songs, the feelings, all of it. I’ve slowly been working on reclaiming that experience, and this year I’m so damn proud to say that I’ve been to the Kennedy Center twice this year, with many more plans to enjoy theatre and concerts in 2023.

My most recent visit to the Kennedy Center was a solo date to see the opera, Blue. It was my first opera! And I’m ecstatic to say it was a Black opera! It was actually supposed to premiere in 2020, but… well ya know… Rona. Despite not making it beyond dress rehearsals, it was designated the Best New Opera of 2020. And while it was my first opera, I’m pretty sure I know why it received that honor.

I’m still working on a video recap of my experience, but in case you can’t wait, check out this Washington Post article.

A photo of the “Blue” program and my red Cise purse that reads, “Protect Black People.”

If you’re following me on IG, look out for my recap in the next couple of weeks. Depending on how I’m feeling, it might also be a future TikTok. When you see it, please like, comment, and share. ✊🏾

Wait, What’s Next?

Are you listening to Health Equity Mondays? If the answer is no — why not?! 🤷🏾‍♀️ If the answer is yes — have you shared a comment or future topic idea, here?! Last month, Omari and I discussed deaths of despair, the Trevor Project, and plant health equity. You can find our podcast by searching “Health Equity Mondays” on all podcast platforms. Not into podcasts? Don’t worry. You can watch us on YouTube!

Today starts National Public Health Week! This year, the theme for NPHW is “Centering and Celebrating Cultures in Health.” The American Public Health Association (APHA) writes, “Our cultures have always shaped our health. We learn from the communities we're born in and that we build together. For this NPHW, we look to community leaders as our health leaders. We celebrate the unique and joyful ways different cultures focus on health. And we look to how we can learn from each other, with humility and openness.”

If you’re familiar with NPHW, you know that every day has its own theme. For 2023, the daily themes are:

🤔 - Are these daily themes doing it for you? They’re not for me, and here’s why. It is a glaring issue to not make something specific to racism one of the daily themes. In 2021 and 2022, the APHA included daily themes that centered on the racial discrimination crisis in this country. To remove it now, when there are even more laws against teaching children about anti-Black racism feels political, and not in a good way. I wish this was the first time I was disappointed with APHA, but IYKYK.

Okay, I’m off my soapbox.

Let me leave you with this - it’s finally spring! Which for me means brighter days are near. I am recommitting to myself in many ways this next month and I’m excited to see how April showers me with new opportunities, more solo dates, and much needed sunshine. (corny, I know). And honestly, I would love for April to bring me some more plants for my collection of beautiful plants named after amazing Black women. A girl can wish. 🙂 

Make sure you check out another new feature below. I have a referral program! Have you always wanted free merch? Now’s your chance. The more you share my newsletter, the more I’ll reward you with stickers, mugs, and clothes! 🫶🏾

I’ll be back in your inboxes in May. If you miss me - you know how to get more of me.

Until next time, always remember to take up as much space as you need.

A handwritten signature with a heart and the letters HEJ, an acronym for Health Equity Jazz.

Join the conversation

or to participate.